Skip to content

Χαίρε κόσμε!

December 24, 2009
tags:

Hello world! Today I decided to create my first blog in English language. Actually I am blogging since 2007 and I write already in two blogs in blogger.com. The one is about my place of origin , where my father’s  family comes from and the other one is  a sort of diary. Molista is the name of the first one , which is also the name of the village in Greek language. My second blog has the short title “Τα δικά μου γράμματα” , which in Greek means “My letters or My writings”.

I am also very interested about languages and that is the reason why I am learning the last 2 years both Russian and Esperanto. The last 3 months I am trying to teach  Greek language for free and to create appropriate educational material to whoever wants to learn. I have already two students , the one is from Egypt and the other from Russia. This is very funny because I have a chance myself to practice  the languages I am interested about.

I have also created a podcast in Greek language to help my students. You can check here to see what i mean.

All that were useful , but the need for a source where I can explain and inform my students about vocabulary , idioms and the irregularities of Greek grammar still remains , so I decided for the first time in my life to write in English. This will be tough  for me , but I believe that i can manage it in the long run.

Χαίρε κόσμε! (imperative singular form of the verb χαίρομαι which means rejoice, feel joyful and delight  and the masculin noun ο κόσμος which is translated as world or universe). So the meaning of this sentence is not just a simple “Hello world!”. You can better translate that as “You people out there be joyful and happy”. I think this is the right message due to the meaning of these holy days after all.

Tomorrow is a great day for the Christian world I would like to wish everybody “Merry Xmas” in Greek:

Καλά Χριστούγεννα σε όλους

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura 3:) permalink
    December 24, 2009 6:00 pm

    Γεια σου Γλαύκο

    I think it’s a great idea that you’re doing this. One tip about English: When the letter “i” is by itself (meaning “εγώ”), it’s always capitalized.

    I’m looking forward to your next post!

    Laura 3:)

  2. December 24, 2009 7:21 pm

    @Laura I am very glad to have you at last in my blog …Thanks for the tip, I will never do that again :))
    In Greek you always avoid to start a sentence with an I (Εγώ) and when it is used inside the sentence it is never capitalized (we write p.e. ποιός να το έλεγε ότι εγώ…κλπ).
    Anyway , I am grateful that I have already an accurate text editor without paying a dime…also for your good words…

  3. Vova permalink
    December 24, 2009 8:03 pm

    Ευχαριστώ. Καλά Χριστούγεννα.

  4. December 24, 2009 8:06 pm

    @Vova ..С Рождеством

Leave a Reply

