Skip to content

10 days away from home

July 23, 2010

After a period of 10 days in Slovakia I actually came back home  the 13th of July. The Esperanto meeting in SES 2010 was quite interesting and productive, at least I feel that way. I have already written all about it  in my Greek blog, both for the meeting and my impressions from the country.

The main goal of my presence there was to start speaking a language which I studied more or less for about 6 months in a period of 2 years  and I feel very happy that my goal was fulfilled. Actually I started to speak Esperanto from the first day that I  stepped on the ground of Piestany. Day by day I used it almost in all my conversations  trying to avoid English as much as I could. And actually it worked, even with the English speaking participants in the Summer School. In the long run I feel that I will use Esperanto in every possible occasion that I will meet “Geesperantistojn”.  Next week I am waiting a couple  Czechs  who are speaking both Esperanto to surf my couch  in Larissa. The service I use is the Passporta Servo.  Their goal is to make small excursions having as base my home. So, I will have a week again and surely   I will take advantage to speak the  “Internacia Lingvo”.

Coming back can be exhausting. A lot of tasks were waiting me after vacation, both in the office and in home. I had two tough weeks , but as soon as I will get adapted to it and to the high temperatures of the city of Larissa, I will be able to  post in a more regular basis. 

The summer in Greece is great as long as you are in vacations, but most people in Greece are hard working . I say that because of the general misconception that in Greece all people are having fun sitting on the beach and waiting “the manna from the sky”. The crisis in Greece is the outcome of  limitless corruption of our governments the last 30 years. Though,  I will avoid to get into political discussion on that blog.

A very pleasant surprise these days was a post from  Lyzazel about Modern Greek from a learners perspective. This  is quite encouraging for those who aspire to learn the language. Of course, he is miles above  the average learner , but his point is powerful for anyone who consistently  wants to learn. Modern Greek is not that difficult after all.  Actually is much more easier from other European languages, as Hungarian , Estonian, German or Russian. Especially in our days where you  can find loads of tools and resources to study the language.

I know that my last 6 posts were about Grammar  (noun declension) and this is kind of boring. I promise to  bring up something more interesting on my next post.



5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 2:20 pm

    Jes, paroli Esperanton unufoje realvive estas vere interese. Mi memoras la unuan fojon kiam mi tion faris, kaj mi ne povis kredi, ke mi povas kompreni aliaj homojn kaj komprenati.

    Mi gxojas, ke vi sxatis la mian priskribon pri la greka lingvo. Mi ne dirus ke mi estas ja tiom pli bona lernante lingvojn ol aliaj: mi simple laboras je lernado – cxiutage mi penas ellerni novajn vortojn kaj almenaux iom pligrandigi mian scion (kaj ecx tion mi foje ne sukcesas), kaj post la lernado cxiukaze ja sxajnas al mi ofte ke mi ne tiel rapide ja lernas. Mi pensas, ke cxiu povus tion fari.

    Nu, certe, mi ankaux havas iom da sperto lernante lingvojn kiel esperanto, franca kaj portugala kaj tio ja helpas.

    Ankaux, laux mia sperto, la homoj en Grekujo ja ne nur labori, sed certi amuzigxi scias (ekzemple en Ateno abundegas homoj en mangxejoj, dancejoj, parkoj, amuzejoj, ktp.). Sed ja mi sxatas tion.🙂

  2. July 25, 2010 2:05 pm

    Jes abundegas , sed ne estas ciuj kiel tiuj homoj cxiam amuzigxantaj …Mi parolis pri oficialan esploro ke la grekoj estas la plej laborantoj post Koreanoj. Tio signifas ke ili laboras pli da tempo, sed eble ne suffice produktive laboras.
    Tamen, mi diras ke vi estas pli bona lernanto cxar mi ne renkontas cxiotage homoj ke parolas 4 lingvoj kaj volas eklerni pli …Tio ni estas kutima, cxu ne?

  3. July 26, 2010 10:01 am

    Homoj, kiuj volas lerni lingvojn, estas kutimaj, laux mi, tamen certe vi pravas, ke ne estas tre kutimaj homoj kiuj vere lernas ilin. Depende de kiel oni kalkulas, mi povus diri ke mi parolas pli ol 4 lingvoj (aux malpli, cxar en multaj miaj lingvoj mi ne fluas).

  4. July 26, 2010 11:31 am

    I totally agree with you, greek language is quite easy to learn.

  5. July 26, 2010 8:20 pm

    @traveler Welcome! Nice to have your comments here…

Leave a Reply

